© 2007- 2019  All rights reserved.

Entry Point 2019 Panel

January 20, 2019

Cleveland Public Theatre presented two panel discussions as part of Entry Point 2019, A New Play Development Festival, livestreaming on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Saturday 19 January at 11:00 a.m. PST (San Francisco) / 1:00 p.m. CST (Chicago) / 2:00 p.m. EST (Cleveland).

 

Conversations with guest speakers whose work is shaping the national field. The panel discussions were an official Dramatists Guild - Ohio event.

 

Who Owns the Story? 
11:00 a.m. PST (San Francisco) / 1:00 p.m. CST (Chicago) / 2:00 p.m. EST (Cleveland)

Raymond Bobgan (Cleveland Public Theatre Executive Artistic Director) moderates a discussion with playwrights Nikkole Salter, Milta Ortiz (Borderlands Theater Associate Artistic Director), and Eric Coble.

In a time in which we are thankfully more sensitive to authenticity and appropriation, who can tell what stories? How can people write about characters from different cultural and ethnic perspectives? How does the playwright’s identity carry meaning into the play and how can theatres be most responsible? How do these questions help us advance our anti-racism and anti-oppression work as artists and arts organizations?

Please reload